September 4, 2008

6 Female Writers Win Rona Jaffe Foundation Award

The 14th annual Rona Jaffe Awards winners which are given to female writers "of talent and promise in the early stages of their writing careers" was announced yesterday. Each woman gets $25,000. Nice. Awards will be given out on September 18th.

Winners are:

  • Jennifer Culkin, Bainbridge Island, Wash.
  • Amy Leach, of Evanston, Ill.
  • Joanne Dominique Dwyer of Santa Fe, N.M.
  • Jolie Lewis of Richwood, W.Va.
  • Hasanthika Sirisena, a native of Sri Lanka now living in New York City
  • Therese Stanton, Tillson, N.Y